Related Links


The 18th annual IEEE Wireless and Microwave Technology Conference (WAMICON 2017) will be held in Cocoa Beach, Florida on April 24-25, 2017. The conference will address up-to-date multidisciplinary research needs and interdisciplinary aspects of wireless and RF technology. The central theme of WAMICON2017 will be "Emerging Technologies for 5G Systems". We welcome submissions on all aspects of 5G technologies including antennas, passive and active circuits, communication theory, and system concepts. The program includes both oral and poster presentations as well as tutorials and special sessions. Prospective authors are invited to submit original and high- quality work for presentation at WAMICON 2017 and publication in IEEE Xplore. The conference also features an active vendor exhibition area and an array of networking opportunities.

Conference Highlights

Keynote Speaker: Paul Colestock, Founder and Head of the Exploratory Design Group Global Foundries
"The impact of Silicon as an emerging technology for 5G Circuits and System Solutions"

Registration includes:

  • Access to all technical sessions and keynotes
  • Breakfast and lunch both days. Morning and afternoon beverage/snack breaks
  • Poster Session and reception
  • Monday evening awards banquet

Plan to stay an extra day to visit the nearby Kennedy Space Center, NASA's primary launch center of human spaceflight, or a day to recharge on one of Florida's finest beaches.

The History of WAMICON

In April of 1999, the University of South Florida (USF) in Tampa Florida hosted over 100 participants for a Wireless and Microwave Technology: An Industry/Government/Education Forum. The Goal of this annual event was to create a stimulating environment for the exchange of information about the status and direction of wireless technology, the education and research challenges this changing technology presents, and actions being taken by educators to address these challenges. The first WAMICON had presentation topics on wireless channel sounding, RF Micro Electro Mechanical systems (MEMS), optically-fed mm-wave communications systems, fabrication and manufacturing technology and education-related issues. 2017 will be the 18th annual WAMICON.

Dr. Henning tirelessly spent his entire career promoting the engineering arts as a profession to students not only at the college level but also at the primary and secondary schools. To honor his efforts, the WAMI committee created The Dr. Rudolf Henning award to recognize an individual who has performed exemplary service encouraging students and/or mentoring young engineers to advance careers in the areas of RF/Microwave and/or Wireless Engineering. Each year the WAMI Awards Committee considers several nominations for individuals that have demonstrated exemplary service by encouraging students and/or mentoring young engineers. Past recipients of this award have demonstrated a strong impact on influencing students, young engineers or young faculty members to further their professional careers in the areas of RF/Microwave and/or Wireless Engineering

Henning Award Past Recipients

  • 2009: Dr. Thomas Brazil, University College Dublin, Ireland
  • 2010: Dr. Peter Asbeck, University of California, San Diego
  • 2011: Dr. Linda Katehi, University of California, Davis
  • 2012: Dr. Bumman Kim, Pohang University of Science and Technology
  • 2013: Dr. John Volakis, The Ohio State University
  • 2014: Dr. John Cressler, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • 2015: Dr. Zoya Popovic, University of Colorado in Boulder
  • 2016: Dr. Robert Trew, North Carolina State University

The WAMI Conference began in the late 1990s, owing its origin to the Wireless and Microwave Instruction (WAMI) program at the University of South Florida in Tampa. The conference requires many dedicated volunteers from year to year to organize and run the event. The awards committee created a Distinguished Service Award to recognize an individual who has performed exemplary, long-term service and provided outstanding leadership in support of the Wireless and Microwave Technology Conference (WAMICON).

Distinguished Service Award Past Recipients

  • 2015: Dr. Raymond Pengelly, CREE (retired)
  • 2016: Dr. Larry Dunleavy, Modelithics